top of page

Journey To Fitness

My journey to fitness has been quite an uphill battle. I always wanted to be fit. I wanted to be healthy. I wanted all the changes but I never had the guts to actually get up and get it done. There was always some excuse as to why I didn’t do it.


It was always something like - and stop me if you’ve never heard one of these before:

I have so much work I barely have time to sleep

I am pregnant, I am not fit enough to start and I don’t want to hurt myself

I haven't gotten the green light from the doc post pregnancy (although I did)

I am so tired from being a mom/dad that I just can’t do it

I don’t have time!


There is always some excuse we can come up with. There is always a way to get ourselves out of being active and get our bodies moving. I am not saying it’s easy, because, trust me, you can be darn sure it wasn’t for me.


My family and I have been having a rough year, as I’m sure many and most have this past year. For my family, we got uprooted from our home country to find a better future and it was a whole year of crazy roller coaster emotions.


After having William during this adventure, I didn’t have the mindset of getting back to a healthy body, not even a healthy lifestyle. I just wanted to wallow in some self-pity. I didn’t know what was going to happen with my family.


I got lost in my own mind not knowing what was light and what was dark. I was in a bit of denial that maybe I could have partial PPD (Postpartum Depression). I hadn’t made peace with the birth of William and how much it affected me.


I didn’t know what I wanted out of life anymore. To make it short, I went down a very dark hole and I couldn’t find my way out of it. I just wanted my old life back, I didn’t want to accept the changes and the loss I felt.


Until one day I woke up and decided that this can’t continue. I always faked my smiles. I faked my happiness because I didn’t want to admit that I was sad and unhappy with what happened. I wasn’t even truly mentally present for my kids.


I disliked my body and what it looked like after having two kids. Yes, yes, I know, it’s a beautiful miracle what a woman’s body can do and it’s amazing, I get it... but that was not convincing to me.

I wanted to feel “sexy” and “beautiful” when I looked in the mirror. What a woman’s body does is amazing, but I wanted to look at myself and see the version of me that I used to be, and there is nothing wrong with that.



My son was getting bigger by the second, I could barely lift him off the ground, and still kind of can’t to this day. If Melody wanted to run and play I would be out of breath in seconds and wouldn’t have the energy to keep going. My body was failing me, I thought, or was it the other way around. I was failing my body by not pushing for a better lifestyle, for better mental health, for more fitness and for an all-around healthy life.


It truly isn’t just about the looks anymore, it is about being healthy. It is about being able to get up in the morning and know that you are able to conquer your day without a glitch.


Conquer your day physically and mentally.


So back to that day, I got up in the new apartment at about 6:15 A.M and looked at my husband and said I’m going to the gym. I think he thought I was kidding or maybe that I had completely lost my mind, but I did. At that moment, I just knew that something had to change.


So, for those who follow me on Instagram they started seeing me every morning get up at 6 A.M and get to the gym, now side note I barely knew what I was doing but I was determined to get some change.


A few weeks later, a friend contacted me asking to have a chat about fitness and a platform she has been using, a platform that may help me in several ways. This platform is called BeachBody, maybe you have heard of it and maybe you haven’t, but at that time I hadn’t. I went on a hunt and researched it a little bit to see what she was talking about and I was a little bit skeptical. After many Instagram conversations, she convinced me to just talk about it.


And so, we did.


She spoke highly of this program and how it helped her in many ways that she never thought possible. She kept telling me that it will push me to many of my limits but I will love it if I just give it a chance. Laura talked about how the motivation to keep going becomes natural because it excites you to keep going, and to top it all off the results will speak for themselves. Although I didn’t want to pay anything, because in my mind it was like come on, there are so many free apps nowadays, but I had to be honest with myself with the fact that even with those apps I never really had that push, so I said okay.


I went all in, not just a client to become fit, but to become a coach. I was so inspired by Laura and her determination to help me get fit and become healthy in every way that I wanted to have the chance to inspire others to do the same. It gave me something to fight for, a goal to achieve. I felt like it gave me a new purpose that had nothing to do with the kids but ultimately had to do solely with me.


This program is best for everyone, whether it be a mom or not a mom, women or men, just anyone that wants to have someone be behind them to help them achieve their goals in fitness and health.


All of this is because someone believed in me, saw potential and a call for help. She holds me accountable every day to be the best I can be. It is because someone believed that I have the ability to inspire others to do the same, to be the best version of themselves.


I know I haven’t been doing this long but I believe in this more than ever because I have seen results for the first time since maybe high school, where let’s be honest I had the fastest metabolism on the planet, aka why I was probably fit, but I have seen results in not only the way my body looks but the way my body feels.


I feel fresh, energized and happy, which to be honest, happiness hasn’t really been something I have felt in a long time. Somehow working out and being fit gave me all these happy endorphins that I had been looking for, for a long time. My mental health is at its best and that is something to be truly thankful for.



I am here to tell you that you can do it too. You can get healthy and strong just like I did, if only you have the courage to take that leap with me. I want you to know that if you take a chance and join my team, I am going to push you to be the best version of yourself. If you believe it, you can achieve it, and if you have doubts that is why I am here to keep you pushing for your goals.


I don’t fear turning 30, I am actually preparing myself to conquer anything that comes my way because a healthy mom is a mom that can do anything.


If I can do it, so can you.


So let’s workout because we love our bodies, not because we hate them.


Come on, dig deep down and find that slight motivation and ask me anything because I’m here for you. Take that leap with me because trust me it’s going to change your life in the best way possible. So… are you ready to join the movement and get healthy?


I’ll be here waiting for you to reach out.


By the way, there is no time like the present.


Mama Shugar OUT!


Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page