top of page

Recipe For Love


Mario and I have been together for almost 7 years in total, prior to and post marriage.


It is safe to say that we have a very special relationship.


We have this way about us that just seems to work in the best way possible.


Like two peas in a pod, he’s the Nutella to my crepes.


I’ve had many people ask me what is it that makes us work the way we do; as well as how we do it?


So I thought I would share some of our little partnership secrets.


Well, to start, I would have to go back to the original conversation that he and I had when we first met which became part of the core of how we worked as a couple.


This conversation was short and straight to the point.


It consisted of the fact that we both didn’t want a pain in the ass relationship.


You know — those stupid pointless fights that one usually has in a relationship, the kind that are there to just get under your skin, yeah those we both wanted to avoid..


So it all boiled down to basic communication.


We work really hard to stay honest and up front with each other.


I learned from previous relationships that when something bothered me to just say so because eventually it would have gotten so bottled up inside that I would blow up and it would become ugly.


If there is something bothering either of us we should talk about it right away — unless we are in public with friends of course — but basically when we have a moment we just get it out in the open so that it doesn’t come up later and make the fight bigger and bigger.

It honestly takes a lot of patience as well.


We all have our relationships but we tend to forget that we have our personal lives as well

it could be work or our families or ever our friends, and it is sometimes those personal moments that can lead to having a real bad day and throwing all of that stress or anger at your partner although they had nothing to do with it.


For us that was another big one to try and avoid.


Mario told me if there is something on your mind or you had a rough day come talk TO ME not AT ME: tell me what is on your mind so that I can help you shuffle through your thoughts instead of getting in an argument without purpose.


We all tend to lash out at the ones we love because we know that they will forgive us eventually but that shouldn’t even be the case.


Of course sometimes it happens.


Either one of us slips up and has a moment of craziness but since it happens so rarely we know that the opposite person has had a day like no other and forgive and forget.


One last piece of advice would have to be is: trust.


You truly need to trust the person you are with.


We had a rough start with the job he had and working as a saxophone player at night and all the temptations that could exist out there in the night life.


If we didn’t have a massive amount of trust in each other and the love we had for one another this would have never worked. Don’t get me wrong I had my moments of doubt I am not perfect, but I would talk to him about it and express my fear of loosing him for someone he could have met that night.


With all of that we got through it and look at us now.


I got lucky enough to marry my best friend, my better half and the one person I get to call home.


I trust him with my heart with my life and now most of all I trust him to be the best dad ever.


I have to say that when you look at your partner do you really see yourself being old farts sitting on the couch watching ancient movies together and still having a blast? Because when I said yes to marrying him that’s what I saw.


I saw my future being happy and full of adventures. It may not be roses and daisies all the time but you can be damn sure that when I come home I can’t wait to hug him for a good 5 minutes.


When I think of my partnership with Mario I think of being in sync with someone. Being able to say nothing but somehow he still knows how I am feeling or what exactly I want. He can differentiate my thoughts somehow and tell me what I am trying to figure out.


I am not saying that this can happen in one night but it is something we worked towards and somehow got here.


Mama Shugar OUT!

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page